Skip Navigation


As of August 1, 2013, the Resettlement Program is no longer accepting applications.
Resettlement Program Policies and Procedures
$215 million in federal Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) Disaster Recovery funds was allocated to the Homeowner Resettlement Program, which was designed to encourage Sandy-impacted homeowners to remain in the nine counties most impacted by Superstorm Sandy (Atlantic, Bergen, Cape May, Essex, Hudson, Middlesex. Monmouth, Ocean, Union). The program provided $10,000 grants to eligible homeowners to encourage them to resettle in their existing home or resettle in the same county. Homeowners had to agree to remain in the county of their damaged residence for three consecutive years following the grant award.

The Homeowner Resettlement Program has been fully subscribed and is now closed.

The program awarded every eligible Sandy-impacted homeowner who applied to the program a $10,000 grant to incentivize them to stay in their home community rather than relocating. The program has sent checks to 18,500 eligible homeowners, including those who were previously on the program’s waitlist. By supporting these 18,500 households with $10,000 grants, the program has been critical in helping families stay in their communities, preserving the character of storm-impacted neighborhoods, helping bring a return to normalcy after Sandy, and stabilizing the municipal tax base.

Families who have received the Resettlement grants have used the money to help meet essential non-construction expenses such as increases in flood insurance premiums, utility bills, mortgage payments and rent for temporary housing.